Tokyo games

Olympic and Paralympic Games of Tokyo 2020

 

During the 125th session of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in Buenos Aires (Argentina) on the 7th of September 2013, the city of Tokyo was chosen to host the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games. This decision was taken, by the whole country, with joy and excitement. Japan is going to feel again the emotions which had made vibrate the country 56 years ago during the Games of 1964.

However the Olympic Games of Tokyo, initially planned from July 24 to August 9, 2020, were postponed to next year, so do the Paralympic Games. Facing the Covid-19 pandemic, the IOC and the IPC took the decision to shift the Olympic and Paralympic Games to the year 2021:

  • From July 23 to August 8, 2021 for the Olympic Games
  • From August 24 to September 5, 2021 for the Paralympic Games

 

THE OLYMPIC GAMES

 

From July 23 to August 8, 2021, the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will feature a record breaking of 33 sports in 339 events at 42 venues.

Building on the legacy of the 1964 Tokyo Games, which completely transformed Japan, the Games of the XXXII Olympiad will be based on three fundamental principles to transform the world:

Striving for your personal best (achieving your personal best)

Accepting one another (unity in diversity)

Passing on a legacy for the future (connecting to tomorrow)

Nearly 10,500 athletes from more than 200 countries will compete this summer in Tokyo. The French delegation will include between 350 and 400 athletes.

THE VENUES

The plan of the venues of the Tokyo Olympic Games is made up of two zones: the "Heritage Zone" which perpetuates the heritage of the 1964 Tokyo Games and the "Tokyo Bay Zone" which symbolizes the future of the city.

The Olympic Village is located in the center of the two large zones, which form the symbol of infinity, representing the strength of the passion of the elite athletes, the potential of future generations and the legacy of Tokyo 2021. Many existing venues will be used for the Tokyo Games, including several historic stadiums from the 1964 Games. In total, the Olympic Games will be held at 42 venues in Japan:

Carte Tokyo

The Games in few figures

18

The competition schedule will be unprecedented. It will ensure equal visibility between men's and women's events. Nine mixed events are added since Rio 2016, bringing the total number of events to 18.

206

For the first time ever, all 206 National Olympic Committees (NOC) should have at least a female and male athlete on their respective Olympic teams.

49

Nearly 49% of the participating athletes will be women, according to the quota allocated by the IOC. This will be the first Games in history to respect the principle of gender balance.

THE PARALYMPIC GAMES 

 


From August 24 to September 5, 2021, over 4,400 athletes will be represent their country and take part in the XVI edition of the Paralympic Summer Games. During twelve days, the best Paralympic athletes in the world will compete for 540 gold medals.

The Paralympic Games are the most prestigious sports competitions in the world. They allow athletes with different disability situations to showcase their potential in all fairness. 
Their challenge : how to excel on the biggest stage in a logic of performance and not of compensation. Their efforts give birth to unsuspected sports performances, move the spectators, break down stereotypes and suggest the creation of an inclusive society.

For the International Paralympic Committee (IPC), the strength hidden in each Paralympian is the very symbol of the Paralympic Games and embodies the four values that are defended there : courage, determination, inspiration and equality.

 


France will be involved in all 22 sports on the Paralympic Games program. Taekwondo and badminton will make their debut at the Tokyo Paralympic Games.

17 individual sports : athletics, rowing, badminton, canoeing, cycling, boccia, horseback riding, wheelchair fencing, weightlifting, judo, swimming, taekwondo, wheelchair tennis, table tennis, archery, shooting and triathlon.

5 team sports : wheelchair basketball, 5-a-side soccer, goalball, wheelchair rugby and sitting volleyball.

Share

Follow us

Equipe de France youtube linkEquipe de France twitter linkEquipe de France Facebook linkEquipe de France Instagram link

Our olympic results

657

679

716


World Partners

  • Airbnb
  • Alibaba
  • Allianz
  • Atos
  • Bridgestone
  • Coca-cola
  • Dow
  • Ge
  • Intel
  • Omega
  • Panasonic
  • P&G
  • Samsung
  • Toyota
  • Visa

Premium partners

  • Groupe BPCE
  • EDF
  • ORANGE
  • Sanofi

Official partners

  • Cisco
  • FDJ
  • Lacoste
  • PWC

Les Jeux de Tokyo 2020

Clive Rose/Getty Images

Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de Tokyo 2020

Lors de la 125e session du Comité International Olympique (CIO) à Buenos Aires en Argentine le 7 septembre 2013, la ville de Tokyo a été choisie pour accueillir les Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2020. Cette décision a été accueillie par une véritable euphorie sur place. Le Japon va ressentir à nouveau les émotions qui avaient fait vibrer le pays il y a 56 ans lors des Jeux de 1964.

Cependant les Jeux Olympiques de Tokyo, initialement programmés du 24 juillet au 9 août 2020, ont été décalés d’une année, tout comme les Jeux Paralympiques. Face à la pandémie du Covid-19, le CIO et l’IPC ont rapidement pris la décision de décaler les Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques à l’année 2021 :

  • Du 23 juillet au 8 août 2021 pour les Jeux Olympiques
  • Du 24 août au 5 septembre 2021 pour les Jeux Paralympiques

LES JEUX OLYMPIQUES

 

Du 23 juillet au 8 août 2021, les Jeux Olympiques de Tokyo 2020 proposeront un nombre record de 33 sports pour 339 épreuves organisées sur 42 sites de compétition.

Grâce à l’héritage des Jeux de Tokyo 1964, qui ont complètement transformé le Japon, les Jeux de la XXXIIe Olympiade reposeront sur trois principes fondamentaux pour transformer le monde :

« Faire de son mieux (Donner le meilleur de soi) »
« S’accepter les uns les autres (Unis dans la diversité) »
« Transmettre aux générations futures (Léguer un héritage) »

Ce sont près de 10 500 athlètes, originaires de plus de 200 pays, qui s’affronteront cet été à Tokyo. La délégation française comptera quant à elle entre 350 et 400 athlètes.

LES SITES

Le plan des sites des Jeux Olympiques de Tokyo est constitué de deux zones : la « Zone Héritage » qui perpétue l’héritage des Jeux de Tokyo de 1964 et la « Zone de la baie de Tokyo » qui symbolise l’avenir de la ville.

Le Village Olympique se situe au centre des deux grandes zones, qui forment le symbole de l’infini, représentant la force de la passion des athlètes de haut niveau, le potentiel des générations futures et l’héritage que laissera Tokyo 2021. De nombreux sites existants seront utilisés pour les Jeux de Tokyo, y compris plusieurs sites historiques des Jeux de 1964. Au total, les Jeux Olympiques se tiendront dans 42 sites au Japon :

Carte Tokyo

 

 

Les jeux en quelques chiffres

18

Le calendrier des compétitions sera inédit. Il assurera une visibilité égale entre les épreuves féminines et masculines et comprendra neuf épreuves mixtes de plus qu'à Rio 2016, ce qui portera le nombre total d'épreuves à 18.

206

Pour la toute première fois, les 206 Comités Nationaux Olympiques (CNO) devraient compter au moins une athlète et un athlète dans leurs équipes olympiques respectives.

49

Près de 49 % des athlètes participants seront des femmes, conformément au quota alloué par le CIO. Il s'agira des premiers Jeux de l'histoire à respecter le principe de l'équilibre entre les sexes.

LES JEUX PARALYMPIQUES 

 

Du 24 août au 5 septembre 2021, 4 400 sportifs seront présents pour en découdre au cours de la XVIème édition des Jeux Paralympiques d’été. Durant douze jours, les meilleurs sportifs paralympiques de la planète se disputeront, pas moins de 540 médailles d’or.

Les Jeux Paralympiques sont les compétitions sportives les plus prestigieuses de la planète. Elles permettent à des athlètes aux différentes situations de handicap de déployer leur potentiel en toute équité. Leur problématique: comment aller au même endroit, par un chemin nécessairement détourné, dans une logique de performance et non de compensation. Leurs efforts font naître des performances sportives insoupçonnées, touchent les spectateurs, font tomber les préjugés et invitent à la création d’une société inclusive.

Pour le Comité International Paralympique (IPC), la force cachée en chaque paralympien est le symbole même des Jeux Paralympiques et incarne les quatre valeurs qui y sont défendues : le courage, la détermination, l’inspiration et l’égalité.

 

La France sera engagée dans les 22 sports que comprend le programme des Jeux Paralympiques. Le taekwondo et le badminton feront leurs débuts aux Jeux Paralympiques de Tokyo.

17 sports individuels : athlétisme, aviron, badminton, canoë, cyclisme, boccia, équitation, escrime fauteuil, haltérophi- lie, judo, natation, taekwondo, tennis fauteuil, tennis de table, tir à l'arc, tir sportif et triathlon.

5 sports collectifs : basket fauteuil, football à 5, goalball, rugby fauteuil et volley-ball assis.

 

Partager

Suivez-nous

Lien youtube de l'Équipe de FranceLien twitter de l'équipe de FranceLien Facebook de l'équipe de FranceLien Instagram de l'équipe de France

Notre palmarès

657

679

716


Partenaires Mondiaux

  • Airbnb
  • Alibaba
  • Allianz
  • Atos
  • Bridgestone
  • Coca-cola
  • Dow
  • Ge
  • Intel
  • Omega
  • Panasonic
  • P&G
  • Samsung
  • Toyota
  • Visa

Partenaires Premium

  • Groupe BPCE
  • EDF
  • ORANGE
  • Sanofi

Partenaires Officiels

  • Cisco
  • FDJ
  • Lacoste
  • PWC